September 10, 2020

for KING & COUNTRY Releasing New Christmas Album

 Four-time GRAMMY® award-winning Australian duo for KING & COUNTRY have announced that they are releasing a full-length Christmas album on October 30. The album, titled A Drummer Boy Christmas, will be the first full-length Christmas project from the brothers Smallbone, following the success of the Into The Silent Night EP and Christmas: Live from Phoenix, which was a live Christmas project. The album will consist of 13 tracks spanning just under 45 minutes and will include their now-iconic rendition of "Little Drummer Boy," as well as several other Christmas standards and originals.

The band will also feature two guest artists on this collection. Gabby Barrett will lend her vocals to "Go To Tell It On The Mountain," with southern rock powerhouse NEEDTOBREATHE joining in on a cover of "O Come O Come Emmanuel." 

The album's roots go back 8 years, when for KING & COUNTRY first embarked on a Christmas tour, despite not having released a Christmas project at the time. While they've since collected several notable Christmas singles, including originals "Baby Boy" and "Glorious," it's their powerful rendition of "Little Drummer Boy" that has earned them the most notoriety. They even performed the song to rave reviews and a standing ovation at 2019's CMA Country Christmas, which aired last holiday season on ABC."The miracle of Christmas captivated us long ago and has been laced into the DNA of the band," shares Joel Smallbone. "We felt it was the imperfectly perfect time for us to do our small part in telling the story of the redemption that Christmas offers to all of us."

The band is also reportedly working on a Christmas period themed musical titled Drummer Boy in partnership with the Erwin Brothers' Kingdom Story Company (I Can Only Imagine, I Still Believe). The film has a tentative release date of 2021, although it's uncertain if the Covid-19 pandemic has pushed that date.

for KING & COUNTRY enjoyed a banner year, despite the limitations of the aforementioned pandemic. Their timely single "Together" has been a roaring success and sits at the top of the Billboard Christian Airplay chart. It's been re-released under several different versions and has become an anthem for many in what has been an unquestionably turbulent year. 

The album is now available to pre-save on your chosen streaming platform and to pre-order from the band's website. 

Track Listing:

In The Bleak Midwinter (Prologue)

Joy To The World

O Come O Come Emmanuel (feat. NEEDTOBREATHE)

Won’t You Come

Heavenly Hosts

Silent Night

A Christmas Monologue

Little Drummer Boy

The Carol of Joseph (I Believe In You)

O Come All Ye Faithful

Go Tell It On The Mountain (feat. Gabby Barrett)

Angels We Have Heard On High

In The Bleak Midwinter (Epilogue)